The Ministry of Science and Technology is organized under the Ministry of Education as Ministry of Education (Science and Technology) in April 2016 by the Government of Myanmar, led by Htin Kyaw. There are 57 Universities, Colleges and Technical Institutes under the MOE-ST.


Government Computer college (Mawlamyaing) was opened on 4 September 2000 in the compound of Government Technical College (Mawlamyaing) in Mawlamyaing. It was later moved next to Mawlamyaing Industrial Zone in Naung Pin Zate Village Tract of Kyaikmaraw Township. On 20 January 2007, it was upgraded to the University level and named as the Computer University, Mawlamyaing. University was moved to Thaton on 20 November 2011 and changed the name as the Computer University (Thaton)